Hair Loss and Regrowth » Hair-loss » Using the Norwood Scale to measure baldness

Using the Norwood Scale to measure baldness


Hair loss and baldness is a terrifying reality one should face, especially if you are nearing the age of forty. Both men and women are at risk of hair loss and can interfere with one’s social life. Hair loss is no longer just a physical issue; it can also cause emotional stress and damage one’s self-confidence.

There are a number of medical treatments that can help you cope with hair loss and baldness. Even if you think that hair loss is just an aesthetic issue, it also needs medical consultation.

To get you started with the fight against hair loss, you should discuss your issue with your doctor. Your physician would diagnose your problem so that he or she can properly recommend medication and hair loss treatment program that would be best for your particular case.

Diagnosis is an important phase in treating any kind of health problem- this is also the case with baldness. The Norwood scale is used to differentiate and categorize the levels of hair loss or baldness one may have.

The Norwood scale has seven levels of baldness, class I being the first stage of hair loss and class VII as the worst. To know how bald you are, you can consult with the Norwood scale as follows:

Norwood Scale Class I

Hairline is normal with minimal hair loss at the frontal temple area. This is the first stage of hair loss, which not is noticeable, and therefore no treatment is usually required.

Norwood Scale Class II

There is noticeable hair loss in the front temple area. These areas do not go beyond 2 centimeters measuring from the line of the ear. This is the initial stage of baldness and medication can be used to prevent further baldness.

Norwood Scale Class III

At this age, your hair loss can now be considered as a case of baldness. Hair loss in the front temple area is measured more than 2 centimeters. The presence of a bald spot in the crown area is also beginning to form.

Norwood Scale Class IV

The hairline in the temporal and frontal region is deeper than previous stages. The bald spot at the back head area is beginning to be noticeable. This is when hair loss treatment is strongly advised.

Norwood Scale Class V

The crown area’s baldness in the front area is beginning to separate from the frontal-temporal area. The hair begins to recline on the top area of the head. Hair loss in the crown and temple grows. This is when hair transplant may be needed.

Norwood Scale Class VI

The hair bridge at the top middle area of your head is starting to fade away and hair loss area grows deeper at the sides. Continued hair loss treatment program and hair transplant program is strongly recommended.

Norwood Scale Class VII

Hairbridge is completely gone. Only a horseshoe shape is left. This is the worst stage of baldness. You would notice sparseness of your hair at the nape and ear area. Hairpieces or wigs may only be the solution in this case.

BookMark and Share:  


Rating: Not yet rated


No comments posted.

Add Comment

You do not have permission to comment. If you log in, you may be able to comment.